Seriously ?!

Seriously?!

I am laying here in my son’s bed. Yep, I said it his bed. He is 10 years old now, just celebrated his Birthday. I can not believe it has been that long. The time does fly I always heard that but, never believed it. This son, my sweetest has Autism, he cannot speak and has Autism Insomnia! Is there such a thing? Well a lot of kids with autism have trouble falling asleep, staying asleep and some even have trouble staying in bed while they sleep and get up screaming and yelling like something is after them. But don’t touch them it will make it worst. They are asleep. I just go with him and ride it out then we walk back to bed and off to the ZZ’s. So I think yes. There is such a thing as Autism Insomnia. Mostly I stay and hope the time goes quickly and he settles down so I can trim his nails, cut his bangs, apply his eczema cream and lip balm. It also lets me know he is not wandering around the house getting into trouble. All of this grooming is not guaranteed. Sometimes he is so sensitive that it wakes him up and I get nothing done. He is one of the guys with Autism that cannot be touched a lot. Other times he is so exhausted I get lucky and I am able to make him look just like any other 10-year-old. When he finally does fall asleep I stare at him a while and think you my sweetie are more than I bargained for and you are more than I had hoped for and somehow before God takes me I am going to help you help yourself or I have to change the world and everything in it! I don’t know how I am going to do all of that! I need to, I really need to!

Leave a Reply

